Sunday, April 14, 2024

T20 World Cup Winners List (2007 to 2021)

T20 World Cup Winners List (All Season) – T20 Men’s World Cup for the year 2022 is about to start soon. As per the latest details, the matches are about to start from 16th October 2022. While the cricket fans are anxiously waiting to see the winner of the T20 men’s world cup 2022, it is also a great idea to have a recap of all the winners till now.

T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

International Cricket Council organizes the T20 World Cup at different locations of the world. While the very first series was played in South Africa, T20 for the year 2021 was played in Oman and UAE. Last year, it was Australia who won the T20 Cup by defeating New Zealand in the finals.

Also Read:

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

Here is a Complete List of Winners from 2007 to 2021:

Year Winner Runner Up Venue
2021 Australia New Zealand Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England India
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Srilanka
2010 England Australia West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2007 India Pakistan South Africa

Usually, ICC organizes T20 World Cup for Men in every alternate year. But due to several issues such as the break of COVID or even due to changes in plan, there have been inconsistencies in the years.

Till now, West Indies has turned to lift the World Cup two times, once in 2012 and then in 2016. So, based on the statistics, the West Indies team has come up as a strong contender even for the year 2022. But the other teams are also in good form. The team New Zealand became a runner-up for the first time last year. So, if they have been preparing on their strengths, this time they also have a fair chance to be a winner.

T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List – Country-wise

 If we talk about the best cricket team in the T20 world cup, West Indies is the best T20 team so far. West Indies is the only country that won the ICC T20 World Cup twice (2012 & 2016) and India, Pakistan, England, & Sri Lanka won it once. Let’s have a look at the country-wise T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2021.

Country times Winner Year
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan  1 2009
England 1 2010
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia  1 2021

T20 World Cup Winners List

Here, we are sharing the T20 world cup winners list in detail from 2007 to 2021.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner

The T20 World Cup 2021 was started on 17th October 2021 in UAE and Oman. The final match of this T20 World Cup 2021 was played between Australia and New Zealand on 14th November 2021. Australia won the final match against New Zealand by 8 wickets and became ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Winner. This is the first time when the Australian cricket team won the T20 World Cup. Mitchell Marsh from Australia became the player of the match in the T20 World Cup 2021 final match.  In this World Cup, 12 teams are participating in the main event (Super 12) which were divided into two groups.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner- West Indies

West Indies cricket team won the T20 World Cup 2016 by beating England in the final. With this, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. West Indies lost only one match against Afghanistan. Earlier, West Indies became champions for the first time in the 2012 T20 World Cup. In this World Cup, Virat Kohli was the Player of the Series and Tamim Iqbal was the highest run-scorer.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner- Sri Lanka

In T20 World Cup 2014, Sri Lanka defeated India to become the new T20 World Cup Winner. Sri Lanka won the final match by 6 wickets. In this World Cup, India reached in the final second time. Virat Kohli from India became both the top run-scorer and player of the series in ICC T20 World Cup 2014.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner- West Indies

West Indies won their first T20 World Cup in 2012 by beating hosts Sri Lanka in the summit clash by 36 runs.  West Indies also lost their first match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Australia and still won the trophy. In this World Cup, Shane Watson from Australia became both Player of the Series and top run-scorer and Ajantha Mendis from Sri Lanka was the highest wicket-taker bowler.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner- England

England was the winner of the T20 World Cup 2010. With this, England became the first non-Asian team to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. England beat Ashes rivals Australia in the final by 7 wickets. The English team had lost to the West Indies in their first game, but they won all the following games and captured the trophy. Kevin Pietersen from the winning team became the player of the series in the T20 World Cup 2010.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winners- Pakistan

After finishing as runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, Pakistan won their first 120 World Cup two years later in 2009. England hosted this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final to become champions. Pakistan lost their first match against England and a Super 8 match against Sri Lanka. Still, they managed to win the trophy. Tillakaratne Dilshan from Sri Lanka was the Player of the Series and the top run-scorer in this tournament.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner- India

The Indian cricket team was the first to win the T20 World Cup playing under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. India defeated Pakistan in the final to win the first T20 World Cup in 2007. India only lost one game in the tournament – against New Zealand in Super 8s. In this tournament, Shahid Afridi from Pakistan was the player of the series. 

It will be still too early to estimate the actual winner of the T20 Men’s World Cup 2022. All you can do is to wait for the matches to begin and then stay tuned to support your favourite team and ultimately check out the winners this year.


FAQs – T20 World Cup Winners

Who won most T20 World Cup?

West Indies is the most successful team that has won two ICC T20 Cricket World Cups 2012 and 2016.

Who won the first T20 world cup?

India won the very first T20 World Cup in the year 2007.

Which country never won the T20 world cup?

Till now, New Zealand, South Africa, Bangla Desh have not won the T20 World Cup.

Who won T20 World Cup 2018?

Australia won T20 World Cup 2018.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular