Sunday, April 14, 2024

IPL Winners List (2008 – 2021), Orange Cup, Purple Cap Winners

IPL Winners List (2008 to 2021) – Whenever the IPL season starts, it surely leads to an adrenaline rush in its fans. Not just in India, but cricket fans across the world get divided in order to support their favourite teams. The fans cheer up their respective teams with the expectation that their favourite team will win the season so that they can again cherish of the moment of the IPL Title Winners.


IPL Winner List

As the Indian Premier League is being played since 2008, different teams have lifted the trophy. When talked about last season, it was Chennai Super Kings that won the match playing against Kolkata Knight Riders. CSK won by 27 runs over KKR.

Let us remind you of the final match of IPL 2021 by offering you glimpses of the statistics of both teams. Chennai Super Kings achieved 192 runs by losing just 3 wickets however Kolkata Knight Riders made 165 runs at the cost of 9 wickets. Surely, all the CSK fans have relived the winning moment once again.

Will you not love to see the list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2021?

Also Read:

IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021

Here, we present the list of IPL winners in the table which includes winner, runner-up, venue, number of teams participated, player of the match and player of the series. Let’s have look at the table of IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021.

Year IPL Winners
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
2020 Mumbai Indians
2021 Chennai Super Kings

Tata IPL 2022 winner will be decided on 29th May 2022 when the final match will be played between the top two teams. Last year, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) grabs the title of IPL 2021 Winner by 27 runs. CSK (192/3) beat KKR (165/9) by 27 runs to clinch their fourth IPL title. CSK made it to be the champion in the grand finale of the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League against Kolkata Knight Riders at Dubai International Stadium today. With their victory in IPL 2021, Chennai Super Kings lift their 4th IPL title.

IPL Winners List (Table)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India or better known as BCCI started the concept of the Indian Premier League in the year 2007, inviting players from different parts of the world. Since then IPL has become an addiction for many cricket lovers. It will be quite interesting to check out IPL Winners till now and other details.

IPL Winners List

The two teams Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings came against each other in the finals of IPL Season 1 and Rajasthan Royals became the first winner of IPL that year.

Here is a list of IPL winners year wise.

Year Winner Runner Up Venue Teams Player
2021 Chennai Kolkata Dubai 8 Faf du Plessis
2020 Mumbai Delhi Dubai 8 Trent Boult
2019 Mumbai Chennai Hyderabad 8 Jasprit Bumrah
2018 Chennai Hyderabad Mumbai 8 Shane Watson
2017 Mumbai Pune Hyderabad 8 Krunal Pandya
2016 Hyderabad Bangalore Bangalore 8 Ben Cutting
2015 Mumbai Chennai Kolkata 8 Rohit Sharma
2014 Kolkata Punjab Bangalore 8 Manish Pandey
2013 Mumbai Chennai Kolkata 9 Kieron Pollard
2012 Kolkata Chennai Chennai 9 Manvinder Bisla
2011 Chennai Bangalore Chennai 10 Murali Vijay
2010 Chennai Mumbai Mumbai 8 Suresh Raina
2009 Deccan Chargers Bangalore Johhanesburg 8 Anil Kumble
2008 Rajasthan Chennai Mumbai 8 Yusuf Pathan

Most IPL Winning Team

Check out the name of the IPL teams with most number of IPL Trophy. Mumbai Indians have won 5 IPL Tournament.

IPL Team Trophy IPL Winner
Mumbai Indians 5 times IPL 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings 4 times IPL 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders 2 times IPL 2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 times IPL 2016
Rajasthan Royals 1 times IPL 2008
Deccan Chargers 1 times IPL 2009

IPL Orange Cap Winners List

Cricket lovers not just wait for the winning team to lift the IPL trophy each season but also anxiously wait for the name of the IPL Orange Cap Winner. This recognition is awarded to the player who has scored the highest runs in that particular season.

Here is a complete list of IPL Orange Cap winners till now.

Year Run Winner Team
2021 635 Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai 
2020 670 KL Rahul Punjab
2019 692 David Warner Hyderabad
2018 735 Kane Williamson Hyderabad
2017 641 David Warner Hyderabad
2016 973 Virat Kohli Bangalore
2015 562 David Warner Hyderabad
2014 660 Robin Utthapa Kolkata
2013 733 Michael Hussey Chennai
2012 733 Chris Gayle Bangalore
2011 608 Chris Gayle Bangalore
2010 618 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai
2009 572 Matthew Hayden Chennai
2008 616 Shaun Marsh Punjab

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Similar to IPL Orange Cap, IPL Purple Cap is offered to the player who has taken the maximum number of wickets in a particular season.

Here is a complete list of players who got recognized by the IPL Purple Cap.

Year Wickets Winner Team
2021 32 Harshal Patel Bangalore
2020 30 Kagiso Rabada Delhi
2019 26 Imran Tahir Chennai
2018 24 Andrew Tye Punjab
2017 26 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Hyderabad
2016 23 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Hyderabad
2015 26 Dwayne Bravo Chennai
2014 23 Mohit Sharma Chennai
2013 32 Dwayne Bravo Chennai
2012 25 Morne Morkel Delhi
2011 28 Lasith Malinga Mumbai
2010 21 Pragyan Ojha Delhi
2009 23 RP Singh Deccan Chargers
2008 22 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan

Having a glimpse of the winners and the title winners since 2008 must-have surely evoked a number of memories of the past many IPL series. IPL Season 15 is soon about to start and fans are eagerly waiting for the matches to start. This time, BCCI has introduced two more new teams and it will be an exciting moment to notice who is going to lift the IPL winner trophy, and the players who will be awarded the titles of IPL Purple Cap and IPL Purple Cap.

IPL Record Overview

IPL Batting Recrord (All-Time)

IPL Batting (All-Time)
Orange Cap/Most Runs in IPL Virat Kohli (5878)
Most Sixes in IPL Chris Gayle (349)
Most Sixes (innings) in IPL Chris Gayle (17)
Highest Individual Score in IPL Chris Gayle (175*)
Highest Strike Rates in IPL Andre Russell (182.33)
Highest Strike Rates (innings) in IPL Krunal Pandya (500.00)
Highest Averages in IPL Ruturaj Gaikwad (51.00)
Most Fifties in IPL David Warner (48)
Most Centuries in IPL Chris Gayle (6)
Most Fours in IPL Shikhar Dhawan (588)
Fastest Centuries in IPL Chris Gayle (30 Balls)
Fastest Fifties in IPL KL Rahul (14 Balls)

IPL Bowling Recrord (All-Time)

Bowling (All-Time)
Purple Cap/Most Wickets in IPL Lasith Malinga (170)
Best Averages in IPL Kagiso Rabada (17.86)
Best Economy Rates in IPL Rashid Khan (6.24)
Best Strike Rates (innings) in IPL Suresh Raina (1.50)
Best Strike Rates (tournament) in IPL Kagiso Rabada (13.10)
Most Runs Conceded (innings) in IPL Basil Thampi (70)
Most Hat-Tricks in IPL Amit Mishra (3)
Most Dot Balls Bowled (Tournament) in IPL Harbhajan Singh (1,249)
Most Number of Maiden Overs Bowled in IPL Praveen Kumar (14)
Most Four Wickets in an Innings in IPL Sunil Narine (6)

List of IPL Winners: FAQs

Which team won the maximum IPL titles?

Mumbai Indians won the maximum titles of IPL (5 times).

Which player won most IPL titles?

Rohit Sharma has won the IPL titles 6 times. He has won it 5 times for Mumbai Indians and one time for the Deccan Chargers.

Which batsman holds the record for the highest score in an IPL match?

Chris Gayle holds the record for highest-individual score in a match (175 runs off 66 balls).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular