Wednesday, March 22, 2023

Australian Open: Djokovic reached the final of the Australian Open for the 10th time,…

Most players in men’s Grand Slam finals
– Photo: Amar Ujala


Serbia’s former number one tennis player Novak Djokovic has reached the final of the Australian Open Grand Slam tournament. He defeated Tommy Paul in the semi-finals in straight sets, 7–5, 6–1, 6–2. With this win, Djokovic has reached the final of the Australian Open for the 10th time.

Prior to this, nine times when Djokovic has reached the final of this Grand Slam tournament, he has also won. That is, Djokovic has won the Australian Open title nine times so far. Djokovic won the title in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020 and 2021. Djokovic could not play this tournament in 2022 due to visa reasons. In 2022, Rafael Nadal won the Australian Open title.

Also READ  Women's Boxing Championships: Four boxers including Nikhat in quarterfinals...

Players who have won the Australian Open most times

player how often year
Novak Djokovic (SRB) 9 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021
Roy Emerson (AUS) 6 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967
Roger Federer (SUI) 6 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017, 2018
Andre Agassi (USA) 4 1995, 2000, 2001, 2003
Jack Crawford (AUS) 4 1931, 1932, 1933, 1935
Ken Rosewell (AUS) 4 1953, 1955, 1971, 1972
Also READ  Boxing Championship: The house was destroyed in the earthquake, leaving the family in the tent...

Djokovic will face Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece in the title match. Tsitsipas defeated Karen Khachanov 7-6, 6-4, 6-7, 6-3 in the other semifinal on Friday. With this, the 24-year-old Tsitsipas has become the second youngest male player to reach the final of the Australian Open. Before that, Djokovic reached the final in 2011 at the age of 23. Whoever wins the title between Djokovic and Tsitsipas will become number one in the ATP rankings.

Also READ  Sunil Chhetri: Indian football team coach's big statement, said- maybe his last...

Djokovic has landed on the court for the 22nd Grand Slam title. Prior to this, he has won a total of 21 Grand Slams including nine Australian Open, two French Open, seven Wimbledon and three US Open. Only Rafael Nadal is ahead of Djokovic in terms of winning the most Grand Slams. Nadal has 22 Grand Slam titles. At the same time, Roger Federer is at number three with 20 Grand Slams.

French Open 2021 Final: Novak Djokovic vs Stefanos Tsitsipas, Watch Live

Djokovic and Tsitsipas



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular