Ancient Coin Currencies of Tripura And It’s Kingdom

4 min

74 shares, 63 points

Tripura has its own Glorious history and uniquely diverse culture. Scientist and researchers believed that Kirat Race and Borok Race came from different parts North and settled down in the vast region of present Tripura,

By its own capability, the Kingdom of Tripura was able to extend over the region from east Bengal to Burma, and its capital was Ratna Pur. According to the researchers and historians, the starting of coin currencies of Tripura Kingdom began approximately by 15th century AD.

Ratna Manikya was the first king who introduced the coin currencies of Tripura kingdom. It was 1464 AD when for the first time the coins were made.
There were many similarities between the coins currencies in Tripura and Bengal Sultanate, their composition and weights of coins were almost identical. Most of the images and the character in the coins of Tripura are then taken from the coins of Delhi

Most of the images and the character in the coin currencies of Tripura are taken from the coins of Delhi Sultanate Nasiruddhin, Nasruddin was the one who helped Ratna Manikya to conquer the kingdom of Tripura. During that time Coins were made of silver and was totally handcrafted. The coins currencies were measured in Bengal currency taka, one

One taka is equivalent to one Bengal rupees. Due to inappropriate information about coins of Ratna Manikya, researchers assume that the technique behind the creation Of Ancient Tripura coins was taken from the Bengal.
The four vertical lines of Choddo Devta and flower drawn around in the coins of Tripura during 15th Century AD which was identical to the coins of Sultanate, the names of many different Gods were scripted in the coins during the times of Ratna Manikya.

This written Bengali scripts in the coins indicate the liberalism of King Ratna Manikya. There was also the year and the capital Ratnapur scripted in the coin. The year 1386 SK by which we can assume that the coins were made in that year according to the calendar of Saka, it was 1464 AD, During the time of Ratna Manikya, all the coins were made of Silver. Along with these

Along with these coins, a new tradition of scripting the names of queens was started. King Ratna Manikya first scripted the name of the Queen Lakshmi Mahadevi in the coins and this tradition was continued quite a bit. The generation after Ratna Manikya didn’t make any biggest changes in the coins during their kingship except the names of the queen and king.

Vira Vikrama Kishora, 1923-1947, AR rupee (11.59g), bust of king/lion rampant left, citing the Queen Maharani Kirtimani

In the year of 1532 AD, Raja Bijoy Manikya possessed the throne and ruled the kingdom for thirty years, during his kingship little changes in the coins were made.

Before in the coins, Kumodisha Sri Sri Vijay Manikya was scripted and after there was Lakshya Snayi Sri Sri Tripura Naresh Vijoy Manikya Scripted. By which we can assume that the king Vijoy Manikya was a visionary king.

The figure of God Ardha Narishvara (the Lord Who is the half woman) on one side of the coin and on the other side the name of Laksmi Devi was Scripted.
After Ratna Manikya, Raja Ananta Manikya took in charge of the throne and begin to rule the kingdom of Tripura.

Govinda Manikya, 1660-1661 & 1667-1676, AR 1/16 tanka (0.82g), R&B, lion left,

Just like his ancestors He again started to script the figure of lions instead of the figure of Gods. And along with it, a little change on the design was made like a little square and written script inside the square.

After then there were no changes in the coins of Tripura during the period of the 16th century to 17th century.

In the beginning of 18 century, the kingdom Tripura begin to unstable due to which their coins were also affected.

In the year of 1733 AD, the Mughal Attacked Tripura and Conquered Udaipur which is one of the Big city of Tripura.

Mughal empire coins currencies begin to take the place of Tripura currencies. Mughal empire cannot able to rule Tripura completely as there was British East India Company defeating Mughal’s and capturing some of the areas of Mughal’s in Bengal. Due to which the Mughal’s become weak and Tripura continued ruling its kingdom under most of British.

Due to which the Mughal’s become weak and Tripura continued ruling its kingdom under most of British.

British India map of Northeast India and Myanmar, Bengal Assam Meghalaya Arunachal Pradesh Nagaland Manipur Mizoram Tripura regions 1891

In the year of 1905 Tripura joined with East Bengal and Assam and known as Hill Tipper, These kingdoms included Noakhali, parts of Chittagong, Comilla and Sylhet districts of Bangladesh.

Till the freedom of India Tripura continued to rule its kingdom under most British empire,
The final king of Tripura was Kirit Bikram Kishore Manikya but he was at very little age then because of which Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi took the responsibility and continued to rule Tripura,

even after the freedom of India in 1947, Tripura stayed a free kingdom for two years, and it was 15th October 1947 Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi signed a treaty with Indian Govt and Tripura became union territory of India, After that Indian currency took the place of  5000-year coinage currencies of Tripura.

Like it? Share with your friends!

74 shares, 63 points

What's Your Reaction?

lol lol
Angry Angry
Cute Cute
Dislike Dislike
Like Like
Cry Cry
Nikhilesh Debbarma
I believe “When you share the knowledge gained from your experiences, you can make the world a better place”. Learning is a never-ending journey, so never stop learning.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *